top of page

The Society's History

In 1415 St George became the Patron Saint of England after the English soldiers fighting under the command of King Henry V had beaten the French at the Battle of Agincourt.
Ever since then, St George has been the patriotic rallying point for the English people

The Establishment of the Royal Society of St George

Early February 1894, Bloomsbury Square (pictured) in central London. Two men were hard at work fine-tuning the constitution of the Royal Society of St George (RSStG), an association which, unbeknownst to them, would survive for over one hundred and thirty years. From their offices in the metropolis, these two individuals, Howard Ruff, a Buckinghamshire-born agriculturalist and solicitor Harry W. Christmas, embarked upon a mission to awaken patriotic Englishmen and Englishwomen and establish ‘on a permanent basis a patriotic English society’.

The society quickly attracted the support of many distinguished public figures in England and throughout the then British Empire. Its first Royal Patron was Queen Victoria.
The Society was granted the right to use the "Royal" prefix by King Edward VII in 1902 and The Royal Charter of Incorporation from HM Queen Elizabeth II in 1963 and this was followed up with its own Armorial Bearings granted under Letters Patent in 1990. The society has enjoyed the Patronage of every reigning monarch up to the current King, Charles III.


Before the formation of The Royal Society of St George, Societies of St George had been founded in the then North American Colonies for the relief of British immigrants and to give them general assistance in the new country. The earliest Branches of which there are any records are those of New York (1770), Philadelphia (1772) and Charlestown (1773). Subsequently Branches were formed in all the great cities of the North American continent and celebrations were always held on St George's Day. At the time of the War of Independence many Loyalists moved to Canada and founded similar Societies in Halifax (1786) and other cities.

The society is fully inclusive and independent of party politics and membership is open to all those who subscribe to the objects of the society. The current membership is made up of a network of branches throughout England and the world, as well as a large number of direct society members. The international confraternity, the Order of St George, is affiliated with the society

The Society's objectives by Royal Charter

  • To foster the love of England and to strengthen England and the Commonwealth by spreading the knowledge of English history, traditions, and ideals.

  • To keep fresh the memory of those in all walks of life, who have served England or the Commonwealth in the past, to inspire leadership in the future.

  • To combat all activities to undermine the strength of England or the Commonwealth.

  • To further English interest everywhere to ensure that St George's Day is properly celebrated and to provide focal points all the world over where English men and women may gather together

Notable Former Presidents and Vice Presidents

  • The Duke of Cambridge[5]

  • The Prince of Wales (later Edward VIII then Duke of Windsor)

  • Field Marshal The Viscount Montgomery of Alamein

  • The Duke of Devonshire

  • Sir Winston Churchill KG, OM, CH, TD, PC, DL, FRS, RA

  • Gerald Grosvenor, 6th Duke of Westminster KG CB CVO OBE TD CD DL

  • Peter Nelson, 9th Earl Nelson

  • Charles Forte, Baron Forte Kt

  • Field Marshal Edwin Bramall, Baron Bramall KG, GCB, OBE, MC, JP, DL


Duke of Windsor


Sir Winston Churchill


Field Marshel Montgomery

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 14.34.03.png

Charles Forte, Baron Forte Kt

bottom of page